NaNo-technology

1 Nov

Four years ago, I set out to write a 50,000-word-novel within the month of November.

I failed.

That depends on how one defines failure, but I certainly lost the challenge known as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I did not attempt it again until this year, mere hours ago, and I am already ahead of today’s minimum word count. They say the initial great feeling wears off, but presently, I relish it. I took a small break just now to stretch and to remove my eyes from my laptop’s glowing screen, which reads “2,965” right now for my word count, and now I am on WordPress, taking a very brief respite from writing and focusing on – you guessed it! – writing.

I hereby promise that I will, to the best of my abilities, continue posting my thoughts on here, along with regular updates on my NaNoWriMo progress. At the moment, the plot remains shrouded in mystery; word counts should suffice. (For those who want a brief summary of the novel’s plot and genre, my NaNo username is danielphelan1667.)

Future topics on here might include Ender’s Game boycotts; the nature of stupidity; peaceful anarchists; a time when ignorance might actually be useful for something; Myrddin Wyllt; a closer look at the “jack of all trades” saying; the anxieties of modern scientists; the objectivity of humor; our largely-dwindling immune systems; polyamory; ghost stories; Iceland; bokkens; the human attention span’s impact on productivity; a case for public nudity; pagan rituals; prejudices against fat people; sword-fighting; theories of truth behind Beowulf; methods to raise one’s own intelligence; Vlad Tepes; and questions about using base ten when counting.

This month I am working mainly at night in order to avoid the potential distractions known as other people, and I intend to reach 8,000 words by tomorrow afternoon. Think I can do it? There’s only one way to find out, because I have neither a time machine nor a crystal ball. Tonight, before 11 pm EST, I aim to reach 5,000 words. That, too, remains to be seen, so I’d better get cracking.

Leave a Reply

